The Four Sufferings

Shiku hakku in Japanese means to endure, an expression that originates in Buddhism. This collection links Terry Watada’s past and present while acknowledging the fundamental suffering of human existence—in birth, aging, illness, and death—and the suffering endured in daily living—common frustrations, desire, separation. But at the same time it celebrates love, and in the end seeks an enlightened state of acceptance. Rise above life’s hardships and rejoice in the state of life is the overall theme of this collection.


Publication Date: October 2020

Paperback ISBN: 978-1-77415-017-7
Page size: 5.5″ x 8.25″
120 pages

eBook ISBN: 978-1-77415-018-4

Photo of Terry Watada

Terry Watada has published three novels, five collections of poetry, and a book of short stories. His fourth novel, Hiroshima Bomb Money (NeWest Press) is set for release in 2024. His new play, Sakura: The Last Cherry Blossom Festival, will premiere in the summer of 2024 during the Lighthouse Summer Theatre Festival, Port Dover, Ontario. He lives in Toronto.

Also by this author